Main Food Intollerance

Intolerance to a particular food will not necessarily show immediately and can often take a few days to show up.

 

When food is digested, the proteins within the food are broken down into smaller fragments for easy absorption in the body. Sometimes, larger fragments can pass through without breaking down, causing the body to react to them as invaders, attacking them using antibodies called Immunoglobulin G (IgG).

 

Theese are the main food intolerance :

  • Corn Intolerance
  • Gluten Intolerance
  • Milk Intollerance
  • Nuts Intolerance

Corn Intolerance and Corn Intolerance Symptoms

Do You Have A Corn Intolerance?

Corn, also known as maize, is one of the most successful cereal grasses of all time. It has been under human cultivation for over 10,000 years. While corn originates in the New World, it is grown all over the world and used for a staggering array of products. Corn is far more productive than most cereal crops and able to sustain a higher population than relatives like wheat, rye, or rice.

 

Corn is used in everything imaginable. In addition to being eaten straight off the cob or as popcorn, corn is used to manufacture corn syrup, an artificial sweetener. Corn is also used to synthesize a number of compounds used in manufacturing processes, such as corn starch, which is in everything from cardboard to biodegradable containers. Corn can be extracted as dextrimaltose, dextrin, dextrose, fructose, glucose, glucose syrup, glucose tablets, cereal starch, edible starch, modified starch, starch, vegetable oil and sweeteners. Eliminating hidden corn from the diet can therefore be a challenge.

 

Corn is used as a substitute for wheat for those suffering from Coeliac disease; those who cannot tolerate gluten.  Unfortunately, a misuse of the term gluten by the corn industry has become common in recent years. It has become fairly common to call corn storage proteins corn gluten. As far as we know, corn does not cause harm to Coeliac patients. For those known to be suffering from corn allergy or intolerance there are obvious alternatives such as wheat, rye and rice that can be eaten. However, it is important to have a food intolerance test to determine which alternatives are suitable before embarking on any dietary changes.

Gluten Intolerance and Gluten Intolerance Symptoms

Do You Have A Gluten Intolerance?

Gluten is a special type of protein that is commonly found in rye, wheat, and barley. Therefore, it is found in most types of cereals and in many types of bread. Not all foods from the grain family, however, contain gluten. Examples of grains that do not have gluten include wild rice, corn, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, quinoa, oats, soybeans, and sunflower seeds. Gluten is a composite of the proteins gliadin and glutenin. Gliadin and glutenin comprise about 80% of the protein contained in wheat seed. The stored proteins of corn and rice are sometimes called glutens, but their proteins differ from wheat gluten by lacking gliadin. Gluten is the elastic, rubbery protein in grains which binds the dough in foods such as bread and other baked goods. It contributes to the spongy consistency.

 

Although wheat, rye and barley supply much of the world's dietary protein and food supply, as many as one in every 100 to 200 people has Coeliac disease, a condition which results from an immune system response to gliadin. In those with Coeliac disease, gliadin stimulates the immune system to react with the bowel tissue, causing an inflammatory reaction. That leads to flattening of the lining of the small intestine, which interferes with the absorption of nutrients. The only effective treatment for Coeliac disease is a lifelong gluten-free diet.

 

While Coeliac disease is caused by a reaction to the gluten proteins found in wheat, rye and barley, it is NOT the same as allergy or intolerance to these grains. Gluten intolerances can also cause symptoms that are not related to inflammation of the intestines, and are not linked with Coeliac disease, however, they are very real. Food intolerance tests such as the YorkTest FoodScan assess the level of  gluten (gliadin), wheat, rye and barley antibodies in the blood. They do not measure the self-antibodies that cause Coeliac disease, and therefore do not diagnose Coeliac disease. If food intolerance test results indicate that you may have a gluten (gliadin), wheat, rye and barley intolerance, it does not mean that you have Coeliac disease, although you may wish to consult your doctor for further tests.

Milk Intolerance and Milk Intolerance Symptoms

Do You Have A Milk Intolerance?

 

Within many cultures of the world, especially the Western world, humans continue to consume milk beyond infancy, using the milk of other animals (in particular, cattle) as a food product. For many hundreds of years cow’s milk has been processed into dairy products such as cream, butter, yogurt, kefir and cheese. Industrial processing has brought us casein, whey protein, condensed milk, powdered milk, and many other milk based food ingredients.

Humans are an exception in the natural world for consuming milk past infancy, despite the fact that a high percentage of adult humans are lactose intolerant. The prevalence of lactose intolerance is above 50% in South America, Africa, and Asia, reaching almost 100% in some Asian countries. In the United States, the prevalence is 15% among whites, 53% among Mexican-Americans and 80% in the Black population. In Europe it varies from around 2% in Scandinavia to about 70% in Sicily.

The sugar lactose is found only in milk, forsythia flowers, and a few tropical shrubs. The enzyme needed to digest lactose, lactase, reaches its highest levels in the small intestines after birth and then begins a slow decline. On the other hand, those groups that do continue to tolerate milk have been able to benefit from using the milk of domesticated ungulates, not only of cattle, but also sheep, goats, yaks, water buffalo and camels.

 

While lactose intolerance is caused by a reaction to the sugar in milk, it is NOT the same as milk allergy or milk intolerance. Milk intolerances can cause symptoms that are not related to the lactase enzyme deficiency, however, they are very real. Food intolerance tests such as the YorkTest FoodScan assess the level of anti-milk antibodies in the blood.  They do not measure the levels of lactase, and therefore do not diagnose lactose intolerance. If food intolerance test results indicate that you may have a milk intolerance, it does not mean that you have lactose intolerance, although you may wish to consult your doctor for further tests.

 

More and more alternatives to cow’s milk are becoming readily available. Examples are oat, rice, coconut, soya and almond milks. Of course it is important to test whether an individual has intolerance to any of these alternatives before embarking on any dietary changes.

 

Nut Intolerance and Nut Intolerance 

Do You Have A Nut Intolerance?

The official botanical definition of a nut is actually quite strict; a nut must have a woody or stony outer wall, and the seed inside is loose or partially fused with the shell. However, in cooking and nutrition the term “nut” is much more widely used, encompassing legumes (pea family) like peanuts, drupes such as almonds and walnuts, and seeds like pine nuts. The overall definition of nut appears to encompass any sort of oily kernel, whether or not the kernel is a true nut.

 

Almonds, pistachios, coconuts, hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts, pine nuts, chestnuts, Brazil nuts, cashews and macadamia nuts are all considered edible nuts, whether or not they are true nuts. All of these foods share the characteristics of having rich, oily flesh which can be pressed for oil or eaten directly. Some of these nuts need to go through multiple steps of processing before they are able to be eaten. Many different processed foods contain nuts or nut extracts.

Immediate and severe allergies to edible nuts are quite common. Since “nut” in culinary terms is a broad word, it is possible for someone to be allergic to some nuts, but not to others. A peanut allergy, for example, is usually restricted just to peanuts while an allergy to tree nuts like walnuts may suggest that someone is allergic to a range of drupes including almonds and beechnuts. Since the terms of a nut allergy can get confusing, most people who know that they are allergic to nuts avoid edible nuts altogether, since they do not want to risk serious allergic reactions.

 

Delayed and less severe food reactions (food intolerances) to nuts are also common. For those known to be suffering from food intolerance to nuts there are many alternatives that can be eaten. It is really important to have a test to see which nuts and / or other food types are contributing to your ill health symptoms and to determine which alternatives are suitable before any dietary changes are made.

SettimoLink